I have been in Florida for a year now and have added a few local items to my favorites. Tonight I am making grouper bites. This is really simple to do and people of all ages will rave about them! You can substitute any firm white fish but I am able to get grouper here in Florida almost all the time and I really like it. I’m back to cooking for two so that is what the following will feed.

12 ounces grouper filet, cut in bite size cubes

salt and pepper to taste

1 egg

seasoned bread crumbs

Put the cut up fish in a zip lock bag along with the egg and salt and pepper. Allow to marinate for 10 minutes. Roll the bites in the bread crumbs. Heat about 1/2″ canola oil in a medium skillet. Add the fish and then fry until golden brown, turning as necessary. Drain on paper towels and then keep in a warm oven until ready to serve. I usually make two sauces to go along with the fish, both tartar and cocktail.

Tonight I am serving these alongside my ginger lime coleslaw and some baked sweet potatoes.